I painted this...

...with the children's gel paint sticks. I used both hands. And I used a Chinese felt tip black writing pen for the fine black branches.

I had a cochlear coffee morning today with other cochlear implantees. A bit of a long drive in bad weather.

I had been offered (a couple of weeks ago) a cochlear processor upgrade. I accepted it, but still wanted to do some talking about it and had some questions.

However, when the hospital person arrived, I was just starting to say about it, when she shook her head at me and pointed to my friend. I took it to mean...you've been offered the upgrade but not your friend. So, I stopped momentarily what I was saying, and sat down.

It turned out my friend was upset because she'd had a letter saying she wouldn't be offered an upgrade (she has the same processor as me currently) until 2022, which would be the next time upgrades for processors would be offered. (I suppose this depends on whatever funding is offered to the hospital)

She had been implanted over a year before I'd had my cochlear implant. And she was expecting her cochlear upgrade before I was offered one. And she had not been expected to wait until 2022. So she was very cross about that.

The hospital person was still miming me to keep quiet about my upgrade. I did, but I was feeling more and more uncomfortable as I was talking with my friend.

If there was going to be any unpleasantness or upset over this, I would sooner have got it out in the open and over with.

I don't know how I am going to deal with this now. I will wait until I hear again from the hospital to know it is going ahead, and then talk with my friend then.

I could have done without this stress today, because I had a text off my optometrist to be there early for my appointment tomorrow, so that I can have all the tests he can give me before I see him to advise me about the hospital last week.

So, I suppose it was well there was no hassle this morning, so I am not under stress.

Driving home was a nightmare on the motorway. Blinding snow blizzards. Visibility poor. Temperatures nearly at freezing. I just wanted to be home.

Then as I did some last minute shopping and collecting a parcel, a driving hail came down at 45 degree angle. I have a bruise on my forehead because of it. I could have done without that as well.

I am in bed now, with my electric blanket on. Popeye is blissfully stretched out full length on it. See extra!

And guess what? It's late afternoon with blue skies, dramatic clouds, and sun...

I am going to make another coffee with cream, and find some dark chocolate....and look at your blip entries...

Thank you for looking in and all your love.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.