Skip's Blips

By Skip

Recreation, reclamation and...

...(hopefully) restoration! This is nowhere near to being a good photo, but it shows something important about "my" park. I have already shown in previous blips that fishing is a popular recreational activity along the Chagrin River. I have also blipped about the river bank reclamation project. Erosion is a serious issue along this stretch of the river. It has already claimed much of the bank that borders one of the walking trails. Now it is threatening to erode the part of the bank that supports the pedestrian bridge connecting the eastern and western sections of the park. Today, when I walked over to the bridge to check on the progress of the wall, I captured this picture of contrasting activities: a workman on the wall and two fishermen in the river, thus my title: recreation and reclamation. If all goes well, this project will restore the stability of the bank and the bridge. Cross your fingers please!

Although there will be many more blips from my park as well as blips taken with the 50mm lens, this may be the last in my series of park trail blips with the nifty-fifty. This afternoon I picked up my new lens, the Nikon 35mm prime, and I am itching to try it out. Maybe tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.