Paladian

By Paladian

There be Dragons.....

..... down at Brownhill Creek. And this is the first time I have managed to get an image of one.

It's been an amazing day. A day of firsts really. There was a competition at our local photographic shop a couple of weeks back to win a Canon 6D body - no, it wasn't us that won. But we got an email from them last night, offering the most AMAZing deal for one week only. So it was cheaper than a US import even!! And they threw in a camera backpack for free.

Because I am married to the most gorgeousest man alive (a.k.a The Rower) he said - let's go down and get one for you. No point in leaving it all (such as we have) to the kids. Was I going to argue? No Sir. I never argue. (Well, not often). So now I have my very first full-frame camera - all those extra pixels. It makes me go all quivery with excitement.

Off we trotted to Brownhill Creek, and the place was alive with dragons - zipping around very very quickly. But we walked to a relatively shady spot and there was this one - just sitting waiting for me. Was I ever excited? Yes, I was.

It's not the best image in the world - but I beg for a little latitude here (especially from Hobbs). It's the first time I ever used this brand spanking new camera, and the controls are a bit different to my trusty 60D, but I got it. And I'm so happy.

Also, I have discovered (here's another first) that IDing an Australian dragonfly is as big a minefield as IDing any other sort of fly. Nigh on impossible, unless you know exactly what you are talking about. So it's a mystery one.

What do you think of the big blue eyes?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.