Paladian

By Paladian

BeetleMania

Ok, so here's how it went down. There were thrills, there were spills, and even a bit of a striptease.

We had a great evening. There was the new camera to play with, and I got a very gentle nudge from a friend that it was time to write up a new blog (from the weekend down at Goolwa last month). So time went on and on, and it got pretty late. Then it dawned on both of us that the cat was no where to be seen. He was still out on the deck.

So anyway, the Rower went outside and put the deck light on, and the next thing I hear is, "Come quick and bring the camera. There's an enormous bug of some sort out here". Very panicky calmly got the camera and went outside. This Christmas Beetle had collided with the window and tipped arse up, and was trying to get itself together again.

Took a few images, not very successfully, before it started to fly around. They are not very graceful creatures and make a great deal of noise - so it's bumbling around under the bright light, and I'm jumping up and down trying to make sure it doesn't get into the house through the open window. Then - silence. The bloody thing disappeared! Couldn't see it anywhere. Checked my clothing - nothing.

By this time there was quite a collection of moths and small beetles attracted by the light, so not to waste an opportunity to get to know the camera and maybe get a few good images, I started to crawl around on the deck - all the time, being aided and abetted by the lovely Rower - he is so helpful with camera settings etc. - but didn't get very much of any note.

I got up, and brushed myself down, and discovered the beetle clinging to my backside, all caught up in the fabric of my shorts. The Rower tried to get a shot of him, while I held as still as I could, but it was obvious that something extra needed to be done. So off came the shorts, and back down on my hands and knees to get a really good angle on this beetle.

Then the Rower said, "Well, that's you sorted. It's after midnight and you've got your blip!"

Bigger Beetle, and no beetles were damaged in the procurement of this blip.

Christmas beetle is a name commonly applied to the Australian beetle genus Anoplognathus. They are known as Christmas beetles because they are abundant in both urban and rural areas close to Christmas. Christmas beetles are large (20-30 mm long) members of the scarab family that are noisy and clumsy fliers, similar to the cockchafers of Europe.

They have a lovely iridescence, but I wasn't very successful in getting that, oh and the Rower says that I should point out that this is hand held, I didn't use the pod because I was too close to the ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.