The second half of life..

By twigs

Bug hunter

I'm absolutely loving this autumn weather - sunny, warm but not hot, great for getting into a few jobs outside.  One of those jobs was mowing the lawns (which are growing remarkably quickly!).  Within seconds of me mowing the first strip this chap appeared, flitting about from tree to tree obviously in search of the bugs my mowing had disturbed.  As I stood still, he had absolutely no hesitation in doing his flitting within inches of my face.  They're such fearless, friendly wee things - it feels like a real privilege to have had him visit.  Apparently about 5% of the South Island fantails are black fantails which makes his visit particularly special.  I love that wee white spot over his ear.  

Try as I did , I couldn't capture him on the wing though.  Something for me to work at. 

I also did a bit more DIY - slowly ticking those small jobs off my list......and that feels really good :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.