Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Little Miss Marvel

After the disappointments of yesterday, today was a better day for the Little Misses.
I took Miss L off to Little Miss E's party at lunchtime. It was at a trampoline park in Milton Keynes which was clear as day on the map but which didn't appear to exist in real life.
Having driven round the industrial estate once looking for it I saw a fellow mum's car stopped in a lay-by and pulled up beside her. She couldn't find it either and had apparently been driving round for about twenty minutes!!
I rang Mrs J to ask where it was but all the landmarks she mentioned didn't exist either!!
OMFG!!
By now everyone in Milton Keynes was driving around this chuffing industrial estate so it was gridlocked and full of grumpy arses. Having turned around for one last futile look Miss L screeched "There it is!!!!!!!!" having spotted a tiny little banner hanging off a fence.
I turned into the road, got stuck between a twat in a Landrover trying to reverse out and another twat behind me who refused to get out of the way.
I felt like abandoning my car and leaving them all to it.
Me and the other mum eventually got out of the chaos, parked down the road and then walked back to the party.
Miss L finally dropped off I headed home.
Just time to listen to Watford losing 3-1 to Manchester City and then Miss E, Mr K and I headed back over to Milton Keynes to watch Captain Marvel.  
It was brilliant!!!! I'm not a massive Marvel Universe fan but I loved it!!! And Miss E loved it too.
It was set in the 1990s and gave me a chance to wallow in some nostalgia!
The Nineties were quite a formative decade for me - seeing me through from sixteen to twenty-six. First love, first heartbreak, first flight (by myself to Berlin) then to LA as an au pair, university (three amazing, hazy years in Cardiff), tragedy for my brother on New Year's Eve 1996, travelling by myself round the world for a year (meeting the lovely Mrs T on a bus), first proper job at Quest Travel (after working in my mum and dad's antique shop and having crappy summer jobs in the soap factory and the MOD), And finishing off the decade with a daytrip to Barbados with my mum, dad, brother and then boyfriend, Mr A - arriving at lunchtime on the 31st, a Gala dinner and then a day's sightseeing in a taxi on the 1st before flying home. What a way to see out the Millennium!!!!
All this punctuated with lots of music and films. Some of my favourites were in Captain Marvel and it was a lovely trip down memory lane. 
My first love worked in Blockbusters!!
And the noise the internet made as you waited  to connect. 
Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.