Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A busy day

Murdoch only got back home from the vet at about 8pm last, and I added to my journal entry yesterday that he has been diagnosed with chronic pancreatitis. He is still not eating or drinking so he has to go back to the vet every day to go on an IV drip with fluids, pain killers and antibiotics. I am told that pancreatitis is extremely painful and I can see that he is suffering - he usually gets so excited when one of us enter the room where he is lying, but this week he has not even lifted his head or wagged his tail. Pancreatitis is caused by a high fat diet, and although he has been fed a strict diet of a superior dog kibble his whole life with no titbits, the vet explained that even the top brands add too much fat to the food to make it more tasty. It is also more common as a dog ages, and certain breeds are more susceptible to it - namely smaller dogs like miniature Schnauzers, spaniels and smaller poodles (he is a medium sized Standard Schnauzer) He will be on a strict diet of Hills Science Prescription Diet for low fat for the rest of his life. I have added an extra of him that I took this morning - you can see the bandage on his leg where the IV drip goes in every day and he is certainly not looking well, his eyebrows are certainly having a bad hair day!

I am very busy at the moment with the boys home and two trips to the vet every day. Today I planned my menus for the weekend - Meriel arrives tomorrow to stay for a while and we have friends coming to lunch on the weekend so planning was necessary -  then I went and did the grocery shopping, which meant going to both Waitrose and Sainsburys (as Waitrose did not have certain things I needed) so that seemed to take all morning, and I hate packing away all the groceries as that usually entails a cleaning out of the fridge so it takes forever! I also changed all the bedding, washed and ironed it, ironed the usual laundry stuff, washed up dishes about 10 times....the domestic duties are a bit much at the moment and I have no time for anything else. 

I won't have time for journals now, I must get supper on so that I can go fetch Murdoch at 6.30pm.

This photos was taken when I had a quick stop on my way out to the shops today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.