Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Spring weather!

Actually it was more like summer today. Beautifully sunny, blue skies and warm - but I am reminded that it is actually spring as my hayfever is bothering me, I woke up sneezing and my eyes are so itchy.

After breakfast Gavin, Luke and I went on a walk with Xena. We did not go to the woods as I was worried that in this lovely weather they would be busier than usual, so we walked down the road from our house into a more private wooded area that is usually too boggy to walk during winter. Today it was dry and we walked over 7km. We did meet other people out walking and cycling as we walked so far that it joined up with a more public woods. I thought this tree we passed on our walk was looking very pretty.

On the way home I was angry to find someone had dropped a face mask along the path as litter. First of all they should not be used by the general public* when they are in such short supply in the UK (rather save them for the NHS staff), and healthy people only need to wear them if they are caring for others suspected of being infected or if they themselves are coughing or sneezing. It is ridiculous to see someone jogging or cycling wearing a face mask and I suspect that this one was dropped by someone who was out exercising and found it difficult to breathe through when they got hot and sweaty. People are also being stupid in their use of them - I suspect many don't realise they are for single use only - and when you see someone at the supermarket wearing a mask yet they don't sanitise the trolley handle or keep 2m away from other shoppers you do have to question their intelligence. Sorry, rant over!

Luke is cooking supper tonight - yay! He was going to make a chicken and peanut dish but as we could not find peanuts at the shop he is making it with cashew nuts instead. Tomorrow is going to be even warmer so we are having our first BBQ - staying at home, keeping safe! The boys are currently playing table tennis in the garden and enjoying the sunshine.

Extra of me and the little princess - at nearly 10 months I don't think she will grow much bigger, and she is quite small, about the same size as Murdoch was - 22 kg and 19 inches high to the shoulder.The breed varies in size so much and we were hoping she would not get too big. 

* this advice will probably change once they become readily available in the UK and the NHS staff have sufficient to protect themselves

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.