To Good Health!

It's been a busy, but a good day today.  It started with a trip to the Nuffield Hospital for my three year check up which involved getting my boobies fondled to check for any new lumps by Charles my breast surgeon, and then squashed in the mammogram machine!  Alan arranged to go in work late so that he could come with me - I’m normally happy to attend appointments on my own, but as this is quite a crucial test, I appreciate his moral support. The nurse who carried out the squashing was the same nurse that was with me last week for my shoulder injection, I bet she thinks I can't keep away!   Anyway, the good news is that the radiologist reported that they're beautiful and cancer free.  I think he was referring to the images, but I like to think he meant I have beautiful boobies :-)

My next port of call was to see Dr Grim about my cough which is back with a vengeance after me thinking it was on the mend.  I've never seen him before and all I can say is that his name suits him, he was really abrupt and not very personable!  The upshot is that I've got antibiotics and a 5 day course of steroids which will hopefully clear it up.

I then drove to Seaford to meet Kate and the three amigos before they set off on their next adventure.  We were originally due to meet at Nymans but with the showery weather and my doctor's appointment we changed our plans and met at the Sailing Club for lunch instead.  We hoped to see the pod of dolphins that's been seen in Newhaven harbour over the last couple of days,  but the sea was so rough there was chance we'd see anything.  So after a very blustery walk we decided to drive round to the other side of the harbour to get some photos of the waves crashing against the lighthouse (see my extra).  The three amigos did venture onto the beach with us briefly, but preferred the warmth of the car as they were worried they might get swept into the sea!  

Once we'd gone our separate ways, I went to Sainsbury's to do a food shop, and then I drove to Rottingdean to Elif's shop as she was having a celebration of 10 years in business.  Unfortunately, I didn't have time to go home to get changed, so I was rather windswept and in my waterproof coat, but it was better that than to miss it.  

The lovely man in my blip is Hamza Arcan, he's a good friend of Elif who Alan and I have met many times.  He's originally from Istanbul and is a fashion illustrator who was privileged to donate an original collection of his artwork to the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.  The artwork donated forms part of a unique historical collection of art, design and fashion during the 1970's - 80's.  He's worked on various advertising campaigns for several well known department stores including Harrods, Harvey Nicholls and Liberty and has had illustrations published in Vogue, and Cosmopolitan to name a few.  I'm pleased to say that we have one of his prints that I bought Alan for his 50th birthday.

Hamza is sadly also a cancer sufferer, and has to have long term treatment in London, but he's doing well and is looking really good, so it was nice to raise a glass to our good health as well as to Elif's success.

Anyway, that's rather an epic write up, so if you've got to the bottom - well done for sticking with it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.