Bradders

By Bradders

Drilling

Managed to get a decent sleep last night, to bed at 2230, up at 0330. I actually woke up a couple of minutes before my alarm, funny how that happens when you have an important deadline.

Was anticipating a lot of hassle with the bus and the hostel. Night manager wasn't in so I had to search the hostel for him so that I could check out and put bags in storage. He was very kind and didn't charge me $40 for the bags as he should have. Called a taxi because it was pouring it down, and arrived at the bus stop 30 minutes early.

0430 bus turned up and I had a nice sleep until about 0740 when we arrived in the mining camp. I knew the bus left to the mine in 20min so I had to get breakfast, lunch and check in quickly. Unfortunately the camp manager wasn't in and someone else had my room, so it was 0810 by the time I got on the bus.

Still had no idea what I was going to do the rest of the day, followed the mine safety officer and had a long induction.

Then Bret and Craig the geologists turned up and I went with the for a tour of the place, a induction for the drill rig, induction into the core shed.

I then spent a few hours taking geotechnical data from the cores, not my finest work at all, I can definitely go faster tomorrow. Drove over to collect more cores and did a bit of core mark up.

Finished at 1800 and then back to camp for food and shower. For a day that started at 0330 this has flown by! Decided to do a bit of geology reading and have an early relaxed night.

Also, my accommodation is so good. I keep laughing that I'm actually here doing this job! For sure it'll wear off, but for now I can't wait wait for tomorrow when I'm fresh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.