Bradders

By Bradders

Working down under

The client frequently wants drone footage, and everyone else seems drone-averse. Works for me.

This is where I spend most of my work days, following this rig. They drill and produce a powdered rock sample every 2m (about 220m in this photo), they lay it on the ground as you can see in the bottom right.
I have a little station that is off to the right of the photo where I separate the powder from the chips and store samples. I analyse the rocks as we drill and tell them when to stop and if they are deviating too much. When the hole is drilled (2-3 days) I tell them where to move next and set up my station behind them, we mostly move in a predetermined grid pattern. A typical work day is 530am to 5pm, and this happens 14 days in a row with 14 days off.

A lot more COVID-19 precautions at work which is good to see, a strict hand washing policy before and after touching anything communal, and one of the only doors we deal with has been removed to eliminate the handwashing needed there. Surfaces are cleaned and sanitised every other day. Where I work it's not so much of a problem, as I am the only one using my car and my geology kit, and I don't get too close to the drillers anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.