Kipsie

By Kipsie

Is this tulip 'Burgundy' ?

This beauty caught my eye as I was being nosy, peering into peoples gardens this morning, while killing time until I met up with a friend for coffee. The shape is very striking and the colour perfect for my new garden but is it a variety called 'Burgundy' which I have just found on Sarah Raven's website. I'd hardly call this colour burgundy, it's so difficult to tell without actually seeing the plant in flower before you purchase it. All the flowers are taking a battering today, the weather is really yucky down here in Devon. The forecast not great for the weekend either which is a shame as I was hoping to walk some of the Templer Way with Yogi. Never mind, I'm looking after him again May so the weather should be more settled by then.
Tripped over a tree root protruding from the ground this morning on a really muddy section of path & went flying. Fortunately did'nt hurt myself, unfortunately right in front of someone else walking the path. Sod's Law or what??
Had a lovely catch up with Anna, before heading home to stock hubby up with a big pan of homemade veggie soup. A flying visit before coming back to Yogi. Hit a slight snag. Hubby in his haste to assist me, loaded the washing machine with his laundry & mine, but did'nt see the wad of paper tissues that were in the bottom of my rucksack. You know what I'm going to say next don't you?? What a flippin' mess. Fortunately many of the tissues were still in a soggy wad when they came out of the machine but every piece of clothing had a very attractive white coating. I needed to get back for Yogi, so brought my gear back. Cassiesmum will be impressed I reckon with what I'm going to share with you now. Not only did I get the washing machine working, my laundry came out squeaky clean & intact, but currently whizzing around in the tumble dryer ... Whoop whoop!!
I was in Tuscany last week (rubbish book, don't know why I read it). Now I'm off to Cyprus for the next 599 pages, shame she could'nt eke it out to a round 600. Hopefully a better read, a Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller apparently. Could do with some sunshine :)
First though a soupçon of Switzerland, I'm making potato & parsnip rösti to accompany my supper - pigs kidney & mushrooms in a creamy mustard sauce. I'm saying mustard but to be honest with you I have'nt come across any in a cupboard yet. They've GOT to have mustard, surely.
Thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting
Have a great weekend fellow blippers. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.