I'm gradually thinning out my seed harvest

only another 32 packets/reused chewing gum tubs/poly bags to go. I think the large seed heads here are Tithonia speciosa - Mexican sunflower, the other possibly Libertia. I can't remember where I found them .. so they will be a surprise if they germinate. The agapanthus that I've grown from seed are looking really strong, they need potting on. This is back blip to yesterday . I think I must have peeked early, I took the photo but did'nt blip.
A fabulous day, no I did'nt go to the allotment... quelle surprise! I did a little weeding/deadheading in the flower borders before planting more seed, & repotting my very leggy tomato seedlings. I've thinned them out to one per pot, dropping the seedling well down in the pot with just the first pair of leaves above soil level. I've never grown tomatoes from seed, & boobed at the first hurdle. DUH!! I've sown more seed as back up. The seed were free anyway so it has'nt cost me anything. I also sowed sweet pepper seed, pea aubergine, & Roma tomato. I saw these tomatoes grown on wigwams in Spain. I'm thinking I might try the same method either in a large pot or in the ground if I have any available. Now I need to re-purpose my empty yogurt cartons, I cut them into strips for plant labels.

Thanks to Marlieske for continuing to host Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.