One pair of wrought iron gates

rubbed down, prepped, SMOOTH, and ready for painting. I thought I'd just slap on some paint to tidy them up, but then I got stuck in with the wire brush, & faffed, scrubbed, rubbed, scraped. Before I knew it I'd spent nearly two hours, preparing them for painting. How did that happen. So much for the quick lick of paint. It took me another hour plus a bit to paint them. Blimey!! Would it take a tradesman that long I wonder, & at what cost. I left the WET PAINT signs outside on the pavement. It was rather chilly, unfortunately my plan to paint the gates in the garage was not possible as there were pins in the hinges so I had to paint in situ. Still I did get to say hello to all the folks passing by, many of them parents with children heading to the play park that is behind Mum's home.
I headed to the Coop to top up my Magners supply but called them first to make sure it was in stock before wasting a journey.  I nipped into Trago Mills to pick up two more wire brushes. The one I used this morning was rather bald, no use at all for my remaining job list. At 45pence, no wonder the wire falls out.
I rang Mum later to remind her to bring in the WET signs. Only 2 more gates to prep & paint, a wooden side gate to creosote.... then there's the potato planter to do, the clematis to pot on, and manure the new border plus continue spraying the Three-cornered leek. I'm determined to kill it.

Thanks to claire aka random_angel for hosting Mono Monday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.