Art for goodness sake ...........

When I picked up this piece of wood on one of my early morning beach walkabouts in Thailand I immediately saw a pair of dangling legs, so a little later I added a seated body, & now it sits on the wall in the  garden. I know it does'nt look like a seated body, you might not even see a pair of dangling legs. Art is so personal.
Mum had asked if I could pick up a birthday card for her brother, my Uncle Brian. Birthday cards are a bit like art, what I might think suitable might be thought totally unsuitable by someone else. I know Mum does'nt like big cards, either to send or receive, but as I was the one of two customers allowed into the post office at any one time this morning I felt a little pressured. Mum, & Brian have a great sense of humour, Mum always thinks of something witty to write in a card. I settled for a card with a chicken on the front ... I went to the allotment first this morning, Haytor hidden behind some very dark skies, but the sun was rising behind the allotment, & warmed as the morning went on. I did'nt stop long. I completed potting up the cuttings then went into Chudleigh to pick up the prescription, birthday card, & paper. Mum also asked for peanuts for the birds, & crisps, neither were available. I dropped the card down to Mum, keeping well apart, I waited for Mum to write out the card, & posted it. Mum's garden is looking lovely, lots of primroses, cowslips, forget me not, & dark blue periwinkle. The Amelanchier  just breaking bud. Lots of people out walking, cyclists aplenty in their shiny lycra. So much for the advice to stay home ... this sunshine is the worse thing possible. Everyone wants to be out. Up here families are out walking, or cycling ... I've never seen so many people walking. What did they do before Covid19??? Folks are ranting on the local Spotted page about social distancing & lack of .... the sunshine is lovely, but rain would have kept everyone indoors. What are these stupid people thinking!!!
I gave the lawn a haircut, then sowed some harvested flower seed this afternoon up in the greenhouse .. thalictrum, aquilegia, honesty, poppies, & linaria purpureum - purple toadflax. Monty suggested cutting pelargoniums back, the cuttings will apparently make roots fairly quickly, so I'm giving that a go. Now I have to be careful with my compost, as I'm getting low on the good stuff. I sowed a batch of pea 'Kelvedon Wonder' into toilet roll inner tubes to bring on early in the greenhouse, & will plant a batch directly into the ground.

I made pizzas for dinner .... mine are always loaded. Hubby's was loaded with chilli .... too much apparently. The thing is if you put A mushroom, 4 slices of salami, , some diced bacon, a few slithers of sweet peppers, planed cheese, & a dollop of tomatoey pizza base on a plate it would'nt look like a meal but when you plonk it artistically, obviously, on a dough base it's too much. Well I was determined to add everything on mine so they had a couple of minutes extra in the oven ... There's nothing worse than a soggy bottom.

Thanks to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.