NellieD

By NellieD

The kindness of people

Well I certainly earned a sit down tonight!

The food bank I support and volunteered at got the keys to their new building and everyone went down today to clean, paint and sort out the garden.

Eight ladies from book club joined me and we worked from about 10.30 am until 4 pm and I can honestly say I'm exhausted. I decided to work in the garden since it was such a lovely day and I think we must have filled about 40 bin bags with leaves. Fortunately one lady was doing a tip run at the same time so as quick as we could fill the bags, she was bringing the empty ones back for us to reuse.

I'm always amazed at how many people will give up their time (on such a beautiful day too), to roll up their sleeves and work hard for the benefit of someone else. 

When the service co-ordinator went to buy lunch, she told Papa John's why she was buying so many pizzas and they gave them some extra ones for free! With so many negative stories, I constantly only hear good ones from my links with the food bank.

Quote for today:
Elbow grease is the best polish.
- Proverb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.