Dark-edged Bee-fly

A glorious day, when I would have loved to drive out to a nearby nature reserve, but that was not to be, so I spent a little time observing garden wildlife, particularly the many bee-flies that are now in evidence. Rather strangely there seem to be far more of them than the solitary bees that they are associated with. They particularly like feeding on forget-me-not and grape hyacinth flowers, which are both abundant in the garden.

The car was mended by midday, enabling me to catch up on the food shopping I should have done yesterday. It was late afternoon before I was ready to go for a walk, and just when I was about to leave Alex told me that Lizzy was coming round with cocktails - apparently she'd had a bad week at school and needed to unwind. I thought it would seem a bit rude to go out just as she arrived, so abandoned my plans and instead enjoyed cocktails and an impromptu Indian take-away with the whole family, a lovely way to end the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.