flavia13

By flavia13

KIRKHEAD TOWER

I live in Kents Bank, which is a small village but has now really become part of Grange-over-Sands.  Kents Bank gets its name due to the proximity of the River Kent flowing out into the Morecambe Bay Estuary.

In Kents Bank we have this small tower, just up the road from me.  Little is known about the tower other than it was built as a summer house in the Gothic style. It appears on a map published in 1826. It is said that the tower is on the site of an ancient church that dates from before the construction of Cartmel Priory however this is a legend only but it is said that it is how Kirkhead got its name. 

It is situated on private land and often has sheep grazing in it.  However many people use it to walk their dogs and as long as you are respectful there appears to be no problem.  I've only been up there once and that was our first year here, 2015 and we had snow in January.  I walked up there and views and 360 degrees and stunning, especially when everything was covered in a blanket of snow.

There is a walk from Humphrey Head (a cliff prominence into the Bay) to Kirkhead but I've not done that as it may be too far for me, but I understand there is something called the Fairy Chapel nearby, which I must investigate someday as the name intrigues me!!!

The view is from a short road off the Kirkhead Road looking up to the tower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.