Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

All sorts

Another drizzly day! And for the first time ever, Archie had a morning walk and an afternoon walk which were cancelled. Though I did take him out to the Links in the afternoon.

In fact, for the first time ever, I forgot my phone. I was very annoyed, because I heard loud drumming coming from the Meadows. I headed in that direction, but didn’t go right down in case it was really a tremendous spectacle and I couldn’t take a photo of it. I then called in on Rufus and his mum, mainly for a sit down. So JR was worried that I was out for quite a while and might have keeled over on the Meadows.

Pals from around the corner came to see the renovations. Then our neighbour came too - she's just had her bathroom renovated and it's gorgeous. A few bottles of bubbles were consumed. I just had a modest amount - I studiously didn’t ask in hospital if I could consume alcohol after a stent in case they say NO WAY!

Then the chap who is keen to help us with our doors popped in. He examined each door and will decide what to do with each one. Apart from general wear and tear, I had attacked some more than others with the sander... He had a cup of coffee and then a glass of bubbly, though he said he had to rush home as his daughter was making the tea. He loves doors, and I’m hoping he'll come up with a sensible cost for restoring them to a reasonable state. They don’t need to be perfect - they're old doors.

We then popped over to our neighbour's for more bubbly, and to admire her new bathroom. Though she and JR will talk ad nauseam till the cows come home about where exactly to hang the (£50) squeegee... or where to place the pot plants... *yawn*.

Couldn’t resist a back view of the new wellies. They're like Licorice Allsorts!

Home to the sad news that Murdoch has had to be put down. So sad for the whole family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.