After the Thunderstorm.........

The rain brought the beautiful colors in the flowers around OTOW.  The people who were affected are getting the pieces back together......
      The Spectrum employee showed up after lunch and did some checking.  The lightning surge had burned out my TV DVR.  The wire connector from the cable to the DVR was burnt, so he cut it off, rewired connectors on both sides of the cable and then was able to get a signal down the cable......   but the signal was spiked and irraditic.  The tech went up into the attic to where a junction box was..(who knew?)  The junction box was burned out from the lightening energy surge.  A new box was installed along with all new connectors to the cables.   Next came a check....   all signals were in the right ranges.....    Next came a new box, booted fine and I was back in operation again.
     My next door neighbor had somewhat the same problems, and he was also back and watching TV in another hour.
      The lady down the street, whose villa was struck, wasn't so lucky.  She still doesn't have AC, her garage door doesn't work, the TV is burned out, the frig is gone........    The good news (if there is any and there always is some) is that the electric company will repair/replace everything that was destroyed by the power surges coming through their installed surge protectors on the electric lines.  
      I invited her to stay in my empty bedroom and get a good nights sleep it was 89/90 F here today and her villa is very warm.  I told her I would get her up in the morning so she could have coffee and be ready to greet them at 8 am.  It can be really miserable trying to sleep in a hot, stuffy home with little breeze and high humidity.  Maria is in the shower now and getting ready for a good night's sleep.   I remember when I had no power during Hurricane Irma and the house was 113 in September.  I was so greatful for friends that let the girls and go to their home,  shower and a good nights sleep, to brave the next day.    I can never thank those people, but I can help someone else that is in trouble........   Always pass on a kindness...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.