Lambing!!

We only arrived around 2 am and went to bed pretty much immediately.

My morning was slow - I felt a bit beside myself.
It was cold and windy.

Here is lambing season and Brian and Carol are busy looking after the sheep, helping lambing and making sure the weak ones is looked after and my have to find new moms or even bottle feed them
The wee lambs were adorable.

While Neil went for a walk with his sister and the kids, I walked around the grounds and did some proper testing of my new Mint.
Checking on shutter speed and working with filters.
It was sunny in the meantime and I enjoyed the peace and quiet time for myself a lot. I sat in the sun up the fields and had a relaxed time.

We met back at the farm later in the afternoon and went out for dinner at 7 pm with Neils parents only.
We went to the 3 Horse Shoe Country Hotel and I was duly impressed.
Lovely food and great service.

Norman explained that there were a few Pubs called 3 Horse Shoes in this area. Because when the horse lost a shoe, you went to the pub drinking ....!!!

Neil told me there used to be another venue belonging to this one, where they went dancing, which was called “The Other Shoe”!!
 
I had a nice gin and we shared a bottle of wine.
When we came home just after 10 pm I was ready for the bed.
Although I went out to the sheep again with Brian and got some education on lambing, actually with a life example of hime pulling a lamb out of a sheep.
I was not aware that twins and triplets are so common. There are almost no sheep with only one lamb, but 3 is tough for some and thus they have a lot that need looked after or that need a new mom.

I am blipping this adorable lamb which is one of the weak ones, that are looked after in the garden, whereas the other sheep are on the fields with their offspring.

A newborn is in the extras, and a few more photos ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.