Sunface

I understand this is a significant blip day and have chosen a blaze of sunshine, in the form of a Zuni Sunface, a traditional Native American symbol of peace and positive of energy, bringing new life and new beginnings. To create the pattern, pieces of turquoise, jet (or onyx), mother of pearl, (in white and cream) and coral are cut to precise shapes and inlaid on a silver mount.

This is the slider on a Bolo Tie I bought at the Fall River Visitor Center, Colorado, when on holiday in 1992. I rediscovered it recently, never worn as it is generally a male adornment, decided it was too beautiful not to use, so wore it for the first time on Sunday, (although nobody would have seen it beneath my jacket). 

At the time I knew nothing about the symbolism of these designs but now have the technology to investigate, in the comfort of my home, how the basic design is interpreted in such a variety of ways to make unique items of jewellery.

I hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.