Signs Of Hope

This morning as I surveyed the garden there were three questions that puzzled me: 1)where did the corpse of yesterday go, as it was not on the lawn 2)why was there a plantpot on the lawn that was not there before, and 3) who did the enormous poo next to the pond.
The answers came as I downloaded the photos from the wildlife camera.

When I said in yesterday's blip that I feared what the night would bring I could not have imagined that I would watch a fox eliminate a dozen frogs by either catching them on their way to the pond or by fishing them out of the water, but that is what occurred over the 6 hours of filming. It seemed to spend its time catching and playing with the animals then leaving them. There were two foxes, one did all the killing and, later, another came along and removed or ate the results; it also dragged the flowerpot out for no apparent reason and it was they that deposited the pile of poo. And it was obvious that this one was male.

Fortunately nature has its own way of compensating and I have seen three pairs of frogs in the pond today (although for all I know they could all be males) which lends hope that there will be enough survivors to spawn and create the next generation.

I used to enjoy watching the foxes in the garden but, following their activities during the last two nights, have revised my opinion of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.