THE STARLING SAT

with three others on the chairs in the outside restaurant on the Albert Cuypstraat in Amsterdam waiting for customers who wanted to share a bit of food with them. But nobody sat outside, it had started to rain a minute before but they sat dry under the canvas and I stood there with our friend Cor and made my pictures.
In the morning I went with the lightrail and the train to Amsterdam, the weather not being all to good so we walked kilometers in the centre, from the Railwaystation to the Rembrandtplein, from there to the Albert Cuyp market, then to the Waterloo Plein and stil we walked. I made some nice pictures of the canals and the lights when it grew darker. But when I came home I looked with Mischa at my pictures and she saw the first sparrow and choose that one. Great with me being tired.
I made a lot of pictures of Cor while he played the accordion, he had started to play again after a pause of two years.
Another hopeful thing happened Piet Hein makes since Saturday every day some pictures at the beach, inspired by a tv program on dutch skies of the 17th centurey paintings. Now Mischa and I look at his pictures and ahh and ohhh to him.

My haiku:

Walking the long hours
Between the brick buildings
I greet every tree

And the proverb by Cowper that I found in the Davidoff collection:

God made the country and man/woman made de town.

Now to bed and back in Blipland tomorrow morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.