DO YOU NEED A REMINDER.....

…..as to what day it is?  Of course you don’t - it’s Wednesday, so it must be “Girls About Town”!

On my way into the Swindon 105.5 Radio Station this morning, I thought that perhaps I wouldn’t Blip anything about it today, but would find something else.  Just outside and looking very studious and intent on what he was doing with the various wires, was the young man at the top left of the collage, so I stopped and spoke to him (well you know me, by now!)  Sadly, I forgot to ask his name, but I had a lovely chat with him and said that the job he was doing looked very complicated.  He assured me it wasn’t really that difficult, but he was very pleasant and didn’t seem to mind being accosted by a much older  more mature lady - and was even happy for me to take his photograph and to explain to me what he was doing.

I then made my way to the Radio Station where I met two ladies, Jane and Moira, our guests from the Alzheimer’s Society and I couldn’t help but notice that Jane was dressed ready for the gym, with some very colourful trainers.  Vikki, one of our "Girls About Town", had on what looked like brand-new trainers and her son, Morgan, also had some very trendy and bright orange trainers, so I asked them to “put their feet together” with Jane, so that I could take a photograph, which they willingly did.  Not many people refuse when asked politely!

We always try and get a “selfie” so the bottom right photograph shows us all, before Clare arrived, with Jo waving her hands, Vikki looking all “brown and lovely” after her cruise, me looking, well just like me with Jane and Moira next to me.  Vikki had to oblige taking this one, as my arms weren't quite long enough!

Because Clare wasn’t in the “selfie” I thought she ought to have her pic on here, as she is an important part of our team of “girls”, so she is with Jo and Vikki in the bottom left photograph and they are all doing some hand and chair dancing.  We were in quite a small studio this morning, so it's a bit difficult to do anything but chair dancing but we quite often singalong with the current song.

It was a great morning and we learned a lot about “Side by Side” volunteering for the Alzheimer’s Society - Jane being a volunteer, along with her husband, Martin, and Moira is the Side by Side Co-ordinator for Swindon.  They told us about the training, which can be done online or in person, if the volunteer doesn’t have access to the internet and which takes about eight weeks, after which the volunteer is “paired” with someone and they then meet on a regular basis.

Moira and Jane also told us some stories about the difference it has made to those who had been given a diagnosis of dementia and how the volunteers often become firm friends once they are linked with someone.  

The Alzheimer’s Society is always looking for volunteers and Moira told us that at the moment there are at least thirty people in this area who are waiting for someone who is willing to go in to see them or take them out on a regular basis.  Jane said that it had changed her life for the better and on the plus side, she is seeing an Italian man regularly and he is teaching her to speak Italian.  

Carers can take those with dementia to a group called “Singing for the Brain” and apparently, although someone’s short term memory may not be good, they often remember songs that they sang many years ago - and it certainly sounded great fun.

We always have a good time at "Girls About Town" and today was no exception - as I’m sure you can see from my collage. 

For those who are interested in listening to the programme, it is repeated tomorrow evening from 10 p.m until midnight and you can access it here.

I thought this quote was particularly appropriate for all volunteers out there, not only for the Alzheimer’s Society but everyone who gives their time to help others.

“There is nothing more beautiful 
     than someone who goes out of their way 
          to make life beautiful for others.” 
Mandy Hale

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.