A GREAT DAY AND A LOVELY SURPRISE

When I looked out of the bedroom window just after 7.30 this morning, I could see that there was quite a frost on our neighbour’s workshop roof.  

However, today is the beginning of the cricket season, so Mr. HCB was up early and had showered, had his breakfast and made his sandwiches before I appeared.  You all know by now that I have slipped to third place in his ratings - so it’s (1) Cricket, (2) Garden and (3) Me - but I mustn’t grumble, because I have been "Numero Uno" since last Autumn and I will be again once the cricket season is over and all the gardening has been done!

Mr. HCB left just before 9 a.m. so I decided to walk over to the Radio Station for my training, but thought it might be a good idea to stop on the way in Okebourne Park and record one of the pieces for my Street Challenge, which is going to be broadcast on Swindon 105.5.  It was a beautiful morning, although a little nippy, so as I had a pair of fingerless gloves that weren’t allocated to anyone, I decided to wear them - and very cosy they were too.

I did a couple of recordings and then sat and listened to the birds singing, so decided to record that too - because you never know when something like that might come in useful.

I then carried on to the Post Office and posted off a pair of gloves to a lovely Blipper I have been in touch with - and hopefully, they will arrive tomorrow.  After that I had a lovely chat with Charlie, one of the young men who volunteers at the Radio Station, whilst we waited for someone to come and open the door for us.  Then the first job was to get the kettle on and sort out coffee for those who wanted it.

I managed to get all everything edited and then was able to have a chat with Shirley, the Station Manager, who seems to be quite pleased with the way I am “cracking on” with the various recordings.  I told her that I wanted to get them done so that she can listen to them and give me some tips on what I can do to improve on what I’m doing.  There is such a friendly atmosphere over there, that I feel very much a part of the team now.

When I got home, just after 1 p.m. I had a lovely surprise when I saw that the postman had put an envelope through our letterbox addressed to Mrs. HCB - he must think that my husband has another woman!  You can guess, no doubt, that it was from a lovely Blipper.  Inside was a beautiful Easter card, which said inside that 100% of the money raised by the sale of these cards will pay for the education, welfare and needs of the children in the Missions in the Third World run by the Sons of Divine Providence - a very worthy cause.

Also enclosed was a packet of Sweet Pea seeds - a fragrant designer blend, no less, but with a wonderful name - “Here Come The Girls” - so appropriate for the “Girls About Town” so I hope that when they are planted, I can pick some to take over and put in the studio.  

There was also a leaflet issued by the National Sweet Pea Society giving lots of information about the Sweet Pea, also known as Lathyrus Odoratus - which is a bit of a mouthful, so Sweet Pea will do for me!  Such kindness is so typical of Blippers and I am so grateful to the lovely lady who sent these gifts.  

I did another couple of recordings sitting out in the garden, and have managed to edit one of them in Garageband - it’s not quite as easy as CoolEdit, the programme used at the Radio Station, but costs about £500 so think I will have to stick with Garageband for a while!  All in all, a great day and I was so blessed by my surprise.

“Love and kindness are never wasted.
     They always make a difference.
 They bless the one who receives,
      and they bless the giver.”
Barbara de Angelis         

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.