The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Rays

This was what I needed after a whole day in a windowless room. I drove home from Penrith, my camera having been left at home, looking at the broken cloud above the M6 with rays bursting through the gaps.

I arrived home, picked up Gus and we headed down to the estuary for some fresh air and a walk. The cloud was by now starting to break up a bit more with periods of bright sunshine.

From where I was standing on the coastal side of the Beechwood Nature Reserve, I could hear the chatter of the young ravens in their nest high in the pines which became more cacophonous as an adult arrived with food from the other side of the estuary (salt marsh lamb?). There are also pairs of lesser black-backed gulls along the shoreline, but who knows where they are planning to nest.

Back blipped on 10 April 2019. Time now for Gus to have his tea and this evening's walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.