The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sloe Gus

This is the back-blip of Gus in the blackthorn that I mentioned in last night's (Saturday) blip. The blossoming of the dwarfed blackthorn shrubs that grow on limestone clitter on the dip slope of the Knott is a spectacle to be savoured every year, a brief and glorious flowering visible at considerable distance.

I don't know if it was here, when I was shuffling about looking for the best show for a photograph, that unseen to me Gus picked up whatever it was that disagreed with him. The consequence was several late night trips to the wood, with the last one at 1 in the morning. And look at him in this photograph, all innocence as usual.

Filling in this gap means nine consecutive blips, I can't remember when I last managed that. Today (Sunday) will be a duck though, a deliberate choice not to take the camera out as I don't want to get psychologically locked into a daily blipping regime. When I came back from sabbatical I said that this would be just occasional, but the frequency has been creeping up each month. 

Back-blipped on 14th April 2019.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.