Hornby Steam Show

Yesterday was a very busy day!!

First we went to the hospital at Wolverhampton for the check up after my operation.  I had a whole battery of tests then when I saw the doctor he said that everything was working well which was a great relief!  He showed me my pre-op xray which showed this large heart hanging low in my chest (to compensate for the leaking valve) and the present one which was very much smaller and higher as the repair is working.  I don't have to go back for 12 months unless there's a problem. I can’t drive until the end of the month though.

On the way back we stopped at Moseley Old Hall, a National Trust property (extra photo).

It's an Elizabethan house made famous for being one of the resting places for King Charles II in 1651 when he escaped to France after his defeat at the Battle of Worcester in the Civil War. We saw the priest hole where he hid. 

After that we stopped at a village hall near Shrewsbury for a Hornby Railway Collectors Association 50th anniversary  exhibition.  F collects pre-war tin plate trains so took some of his to run on on the rails. His are the red and black ones in the photo. They took it in turns to run their trains and were having a great time.  There's another photo in extras.

The exhibitors and spectators were men of a certain age (the few women were in the kitchen doing refreshments).  The rolls were homemade bread which was great!

I was asked if I'll go to their next meet in May to take some photos for their magazine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.