The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Kindred Spirits

While my first 228 blips were posted without a gap, it has taken me almost one full year to reach 300 blips. I would have loved to make it straight through but my schedule and the pressures of my life are such that such was simply not possible. But, I continue to remind myself that my original and "final" goal was 100 blips and fact that I am still here says a great deal about this community.

If at all possible, this is not a place one should ever leave. There is too much talent here and too much awe to walk away. There is too much kindness, compassion, understanding, wisdom, wit and love here to ever throw in the towel. While there are many other photo-centric places on the web, none are capable of holding a candle to the communal aspects of Blipfoto. The rest are just "places of pixels" but this place has a soul. You know what makes this place special. You have felt it in your heart, read it with your eyes and heard it in your mind. I think it is highly unique and it keeps drawing back here as often as possible.

I have made many friends through Blipfoto and yet, until last night, none of these cyber-friendships have transformed into the physical state. Hence, I was ecstatic when I figured out that I would be in Portland and able to visit to a Vivian Maier exhibit with none other than Kendall. For many months, we had planned my first blip-meet but, each and every prior time, I had to take a rain check. Last night, I finally made good on my promise and it was as great as I anticipated and more. Kendall's hospitality, grace and elegance made me feel like royalty and her life story is an amazing journey that is documentary worthy.

Many of you know that there is only one Kendall and she is a very special friend to many of us. Since nearly the beginning of my blip existence (blip #17), Kendall has most every night left comments that have gone straight to my heart and her journal is a work of digital and literary art that is not to be missed. She posts journal pages that have opened my eyes and my mind. Her wisdom and insightful prose have sent me to bed each night a much more enriched man and her images are candy for the eyes. I could go on and on and on about Kendall. But, for those of you that know Kendall, you already know what I mean.

Yesterday, Kendall and I had planned to blip each other but our conversation easily outlasted any form of hospitable light. So, we went to "Plan B" and decided that even though we could not be together today, we would both capture a street image in honor of her love for Vivian Maier, a love that I now share with her. In the little time I had today, I met and blipped Gerry and Duchess. They are kindred spirits and dear friends that share a great deal of affection, honor and respect. After meeting Kendall in person, I very well know the feeling.

Thanks to all of you for treating me with such kindness and for sharing your amazing images and your wonderful journal entries with me. And thank you for your generous visits and comments. I only wish I had the time to be here daily.

Ciao for now.


PS....If you have time hit large and see the bright eyes on Duchess....what an adorable dog!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.