MikeWest

By MikeWest

Clouds and Fog

Today turned out to be quite special! I didn't expect much because the forecast showed rain until early evening, then a little bit of light. As the rain subsided, fog unexpectedly rolled in across the lake giving an ethereal feel and obscuring the far shore. As I went out, light burst through the cloud producing wonderful reflections on the still water.

I didn't know which way to turn I was so excited at the opportunities and hoped I could work fast enough to catch something special before it disappeared. I could post half a dozen photos from today, but in keeping with my policy I decided on my best and allowed one extra.

I liked the main image because it captures all the elements of the day: clouds, fog, reflections and still water. I like the rock in the corner, although I wish it were away from the edge, it provides a contrasting element and an anchor.

I liked the extra because it has a wonderful soft feel, like cotton, and the faint splash of colour in the willow (I believe it is) against the dark trees. Again I wish I had more space around the right hand brighter tree and more of the reflections in the water. Lessons learned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.