Salisbury...

To see SarumStroller.

When I read on the FB group that SS’s exhibition had been extended I promptly asked Mr C if he fancied a visit to Salisbury and he happily obliged.

We set off about 9 and arrived about 11ish and promptly stopped for a light breakfast and a warm drink (the weather was glorious but my, there was a nip in the air ~ even Mr C was cold and that’s most unusual). Onto the gallery and we were the only ones there to admire SS most wonderful photos, a lot recognisable from his journal. In my extras I have the words written about SS (something very similar to how I described him to Mr C) with one of his photos (he would have been alarmed that I have framed it too!) I was really pleased that I got to see this and it was lovely to read that they had been left his photos and will probably do further exhibitions. I ‘chatted’ a few times with SS once being when he was trying to help me ‘tag’ a photo... long before the simplicity of it now.... or was it my inept ability to do so but he was very patient even though we didn’t work it out. I’m sure he would have been incredibly proud of his exhibition.

We meandered down to the cathedral, walked through the cloisters, saw the Magna Carta, another (expensive) cup of tea and then into the cathedral itself where I was mesmerised with this wonderful font. A little like an infinity pool, the water is so still you get wonderful reflections of the cathedrals roof and stained glass windows. I could have stood there for hours. Another extra of different angles (you can choose your favourite).

Then across the close to have a walk around Mompesson house, a NT property. A walk down to the river before doing a little supermarket shop (we had parked near to a Sainsbury’s and it would save us going tomorrow). I had a quick look on my phone for places to eat and there was an Indian restaurant nearby that was recommended and what a lovely meal we had. Wonderful different dishes to your usual curry house that made a nice change. Very enjoyable.

A lovely day out and we got home, tired, about 9.30pm.

One or two extras. ;-D))

Edit.. have added to AT but don’t think it meets the brief ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.