Tiptoe Through the Tulips

We had to be out of the apartment by 11 so no hanging around this morning. We got a taxi into the city centre and dropped our bags off at the left luggage office for the day.
We went back to Bagels and Beans again for brunch as it was so good yesterday. After that we wandered around the narrow streets of Amsterdam Centre for a while then went to Bierproeflokaal In de Wildeman, one of Amsterdam’s famous pubs or ‘Brown Cafes’ for a drink and to plan our next move.
We decided that we’d like to go on a tram while we were here and, although we knew we wouldn’t be able to get in without pre booked tickets, decided to go over to the museum quarter to have a look.
After trying the Van Gogh museum and going into the Reicht museum and confirming that we weren't going to be able to get tickets for today, we wandered around, took some photos then walked over to the Albert Cuyp Market, apparently one of the biggest in Europe.
We then headed back into the main city centre in the tram and went for a coffee and traditional Dutch apple pie.
By this time, it made sense to go and reclaim our luggage and get a taxi to the airport. They were very efficient getting us through security (much quicker than Stanstead) and we then had a couple of drinks and some dinner before boarding the plane. We seemed to be taxiing for ever before we took off and we’re about half an hour later than scheduled. I don’t know if it’s because it was dark or that I was more tired on the way back but I felt much more aware of the planes movements, particularly when it banked which I find really unpleasant. I was very relieved when we landed at Stanstead. Then of course you have all the palaver of getting back to the terminal, waiting for a bus to the car park and then the drive home. Eventually got back just before 11.40. I lost my kindle somewhere between Schiphol and home.
 
On reflection, it was a fantastic trip, I feel like It’s a huge achievement and it was a privilege to share the experience with D and the children. I was very glad to get into my own bed though.
Oh, and someone from Stanstead has just rung to arrange the return of my kindle which I'd left in the seat pocket of the plane. Hurrah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.