It started with a bucket* ..........

A bit of a day, and some .........

Drove the 180 miles down here yesterday, as I wanted to help Mum and Dad with some things. They are both very independent, which is good, but need to be getting support where they need it. When I walked in this morning they were astonished to see me, as they had both forgotten I had been with them for several hours the day before.

Late morning I noticed the drip, then the wet chair and carpet, then the blistering ceiling. That's where the bucket came in. British Gas Homecare proved to be remarkably useless. No ability to talk to a real person (all automation), and earliest availability Monday afternoon. I am not having a collapsing ceiling, so I went down the emergency plumber route. To cut a long story short, hot water cistern drained, new cistern required, no hot water till that happens. They’ll cope for a few days.

And that’s not all that’s happened today, it’s been one of those days. I intended to return home early tomorrow, it might take a little longer so I make sure what needs to happen over the next few days does happen.

The good thing is I’m here so I’ve been able to sort things, goodness knows what would have happened otherwise.

* Apologies to Hot Chocolate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.