Kimonos

Day 2 of the Japan Bowl included quite a few cultural activities: calligraphy, the art of the tea and incense ceremonies, karate, how to make pastries, and how to wear every day kimonos (and of course, the finals of the competition).  

The day closed with a performance by some young Japanese ladies who were national winners of kimono dressing (the festive kind).  Today's pic features the current national winner (who incidentally asked me later to pose for a selfie with her) and the extra is of the whole group. This kind of kimono is quite the production -- glad I don't have to deal with such vestments or I'd have to add an extra hour to my morning routine ;) 

One more day to the festival: a parade and a street festival (I'll cover the latter for the whole day)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.