... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Let Sleeping [Swans] Lie

I'm back! BT have finally "fixed" our phone line... It turns out that last Thursday a BT engineer had visited our local hub to work on someone else's line, and in the process left our line unplugged... So, the better part of a week later (and after far too much of my family's time has been spent on the photo to BT in India) they sent out an engineer who discovered the "fault" and "repaired it" (i.e. plugged our line back in to the hub). Well played BT.

ANYWAY, it is fixed now, and I'm now more pleased with my (relatively) new phone because it at least let me keep uploading my photos so that I don't have a backlog to deal with. I've just started catching up with other's journals, and am very much enjoying reading and seeing what everyone's been up to :o)

So, to my blip: this morning (very cold and grey) I visited Mount Pond because I think I'm addicted to stroking the swans. Well, I wasn't going to visit (cold and grey), but my first task for the day was to visit the Post Office, and it was closed when I arrived, so I killed the time by visiting the pond... When I arrived, the two swans and their two cygnets were all asleep! I've uploaded my first shot to Blipfolio here. The parents were standing up, and the cygnets were lying behind them; I know that I'm biased, but I thought it was a rather adorable scene...
I took my blip picture about 10 minutes later: one of the cygnets had woken up (not my fault!) but hadn't moved (other than opening its eyes). I shuffled around to it slowly and stroked its neck, which made it lift its head (so I left it alone), but it still didn't move!
Sigh They may not be cute like Egyptian goslings (well, not at this stage anyway: I've only seen juvenile/large cygnets, not tiny ones), but they're very characterful and endearing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.