Millbrook Marsh Walkway

It's been rainy and overcast for several days, and at this time of year, most of the daylight occurs only during the hours when I am at work.

So it's been tough to fit any outdoor photo shoots into my schedule. As you can probably tell from my last few blips, I've had to turn to more indoor themes!

But Tuesday before work, the rain cleared for a quick morning visit to Millbrook Marsh. I was rewarded for my efforts by seeing a muskrat swimming in the waters of Thompson Run.

It moved quite briskly, flicking its little skinny tail around like an outboard motor. It approached the ducks, who seemed none too pleased. The lead duck's response, I imagined to be something like this:

"Great, in addition to everything else, now we've got primarily nocturnal, medium-sized, semi-aquatic swimming rodents!"

One of the things I like best about Millbrook Marsh is its lovely boardwalk over the marsh. I took this photo of it with my back to the duck blind that you saw in an earlier blip.

This is a shot I've taken many times, during many visits there (the lines of the walkway always draw my eye), but somehow I've never gotten around to posting it until now.

The marsh grasses and reeds around me were all golden. The ducks who successfully evaded the muskrat eventually moved downstream. As they passed beneath the bridge, and then under the tree below it where the kingfisher likes to sit, the kingfisher hurled raucous insults at them.

And so began another day at Millbrook Marsh . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.