Wallflower

I grew these from seed. They take two years before they flower and I have nurtured them, in seed beds for their first summer and into the greenhouse last autumn to encourage them. Well they grew like Topsey and took over at least half the greenhouse. They grew so big I thought they would not be any good as spring bedding. Eventually I planted some out because I needed room in the greenhouse.
Well now they are flowering and doing so prolifically. The greenhouse smells wonderful as you enter, concentrated wallflower scent is very pleasant. And those in tubs outside are also doing well, very leggy but still with lots of flowers. Rather belatedly I realised I should have cut them back earlier to make the shorter plants seen in garden centres. Never mind, you live and learn.
One of the other things I have learned is you have to be a very dedicated gardener to spend so much time and energy producing plants that are sold for about £2.00 for 20 in gardening shops

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.