Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Dipper Joy #44

Just a morning out today, but it was a super one. I had my first encounter with dippers today and I loved it! Last weekend when I was at Marshside another birder who I have met before told me that the place to see dippers was Yarrow Valley Country Park and he was not wrong :)
Within a few steps of the carpark we saw a photographer at the bridge over the river and sure enough he was watching a pair of dippers building a nest - how very thoughtful of them indeed!
We stayed until we got cold as there was a stiff breeze and not much sunshine and then moved on. There were a pair of great crested grebes on the lake and a lovely grey wagtail up at the weir which were fun to see, (extras) but all I wanted to do was go back to the bridge and watch the dippers again. So after a bacon sandwich at the café, we went across the carpark again for another look. Yes - they were still there - so I took another load of shots just because I could. My selection of settings needs some work, and it's a shame you can't get down to the level of the river, but I was happy that I got a few decent shots at least. Another place I think I might be returning to in the future. 
Now I'll try and catch up with the rest of your journals after being too tired to do them last night after a long day. Husband is watching The Masters Golf and I so hope Francesco Molinari can continue his good form as I'm not too keen on Tiger winning again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.