Lot Number...

Among the items that I mentioned we came home with after yesterday's auction was this bird. There had been some discussion as to its identity, I thought a grebe, or possibly a diver, but the auction described it as a woodpecker, to be hung vertically.
The lady who had donated it for the sale told me it was carved by her brother-in-law JK in Canada in 2005. She then proceeded to bid for it and continued to bid against me so I gave up. Afterwards I asked why she had bid, and was told she didn't want it to be unsold, but I could buy it from her at the price the hammer went down - so I did. 
It's not a small piece, just over 10" (27cm) long and 6½" (16cm) high so not suitable for the Flumlet's 'lineup' on the sitting room floor, so it will probably remain an ornament.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.