Kaleidobulb

Making up for yesterday's laziness, I got back on top of things today in terms of the job which has to finished for Friday. As usual, there are contributors who ignore clear specifications given to them for submission of material, especially full-page ads and company logos. Over and over and over again I have to go back to the client to ask her for replacements in appropriate file formats. There was a strange instance of this today. One of the ads had originally been submitted without the necessary bleed, and the company logo which appeared on the page was very poor quality. It took until today to get a new version, and I got a right land when the replacement arrived. Instead of the high-resolution PDF we ask for, the ad agency sent on a full pre-press folder containing a Quark XPress original document with all its attendant support files and fonts. I haven't use XPress for a very long time, and even if I still did there's no way I'd be sufficiently up to date to open the file they sent. Rather than go back yet again I decided to download the trial version of Quark XPress 8 and to export the ad from that in the format I needed. It worked, but it was all unnecessarily time-consuming and a ridiculously roundabout way to resolve things. Grrrrrrrr ...

I'm just finishing my evening refreshment break, so decided to upload some stuff to Blip. I've back-blipped Saturday and Sunday, but I'm still left with a gap where Thursday and Friday should be. Back-blipping those will have to wait until tomorrow, I'm afraid. In the mean time, here's yet another kaleidoscope offering. The original is a little tabletop light thingie. When I saw it on the preview screen I immediately thought it would make a good kaleidoscope, so here it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.