NellieD

By NellieD

A positive traffic jam

I woke up this morning and decided to pull up my boot straps!

There was still nothing from the agency about the job so I rang the one that does get back to me and told them I would like to consider temporary or short term contracts.  It might be a great way to gain experience in other industries whilst I am waiting for someone else to realise that they really need me as their PA.

A friend had posted some photos at the weekend and one of the sculptures piqued my interest.  It was an hour away but I decided today was a new day and I was going to start afresh - even if that did just mean getting out and about for the sake of my blip.

Unfortunately with 30 miles still to go, traffic on the motorway came to a standstill and sat nav then updated itself and added an extra 2 hours to my journey.

I managed to get off the motorway after crawling along for a couple of miles and thought I'd just go round the roundabout and head back home when I saw one of the brown Heritage signs.  I know they usually lead to something of interest so I followed the signs to Brockholes and found a 250 acre nature reserve ... a beautiful, peaceful place to wander, contemplate - and blip!

Everywhere I looked I saw pathways ... some hidden, some a little overgrown and others stretching straight out ahead of me into the distance.  A sign for me surely that I just have to find this new pathway ... 

... And then the phone rang and the agent told me (after a lot of waffle) that I hadn't got the job!  It was a close thing but the other candidate had property experience which swung in her favour.  The feedback was really positive and they said the fact they have been looking for over 6 months, with hardly anyone getting a second interview, was to my credit.

Onwards and upwards ... I'm off to look for that path.

Quote for today:
Choosing one path means abandoning others - if you try to follow every possible path you will end up following none.
- Paul Coelho

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.