id:FOR

By FOR

Mother NATURE is always stronger than YOU...

... remember that ;-) especially in Scottish Highlands

Woke up at 7:30 am in the morning and my plan was simple : trying to hike whole Ben Cruachan Ridge (horseshoe) from east to west. I was starting from Castle Farm at 9am and weather looked so promising. Blue sky with a few clouds.

So I have easily reached Lairig Noe in one and a half hour. At that point everything was changed while I was trying to reach the summit of Sron an Isean (964m) through the steep and pathless route full of boulders. Oh-aye Mr. Wind was a wee strong in these days. Fortunately I was in good position during the ascent of the first summit (a bit hidden behind the ridge) and I reached the top in one hour or so. Lucky me finally on the ridge. The picture showing first munro Stob Diamh (998m) on the left and Ben Cruachan (1126m) summit on the right. It looks pretty magnificent from that point of view but soon after I reached Stob Diamh munro I realized how hard today' s hike should be. Not sure about the speed of wind (southwest direction) but it was strong and should be around 45 - 55km per hour.

When I tried to approach Drochaid Ghlas (1009m) from Stob Diamh I have lost first sun glasses and then my beanie. Literally the strong wind took them both from my face very quickly. Saw them flying somewhere on the slopes in Loch Etive' s direction so fast. I didn' t say even goodbye to them ;) It was quick moment and they were gone.

Quick decision and I simply realized today I can' t go up to Ben Cruachan. No way, hard and tough challenge probably for everyone. Not because the ridge is a bit exposed but because of natural respect to Scottish Highlands. You can' t go too far in terms of risk. So I found easily ideal descent route into the Cruachan Dam and escaped from the ridge. Next time.

Literally outstripped like the lamb which I met on my way through the tarmac road from Cruachan Dam.

To be honest I reached Cruachan Dam at 3pm and took my break for some light snack/lunch (sandwich). Took a couple of pictures of interesting shadowplay there and then went back to Loch Awe where I took earlier train to Glasgow at 6:48pm.

So see you next time Ben Cruachan, be sure I will be back to enjoy again the beautiful views into the Loch Etive, Isle of Mull, Glen Coe or Ben Nevis ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.