id:FOR

By FOR

Sunday Classics at Usher Hall

Japan Philharmonic Orchestra & Pietari Inkinen (conductor)

First half:
Rautavaara - In the Beginning
Beethoven - Piano Concerto No. 3 (John Lill on piano)

Second half:
Takemitsu - Requiem for Strings
Sibelius - Symphony No. 2

It was really interesting to hear and see orchestra from Japan here in Edinburgh. I like Sibelius' music and I can' t believe that John Richard Lill CBE is 75 years old. He is still really phenomenal while playing Third Piano Concerto from Beethoven. Really deserved the huge applause for his interpretation of this piece.

So I' m honoured to post a photo from that moment at the end of the first half.

Anyway maybe some of you should thinking that I' m trying to take a picture of the classical orchestra which is usually forbidden. Oh well I will tell you my opinion.

Simply to say how I'm doing this:

when orchestra (musicians) are playing I' m strictly not taking a pictures just listening. When they are finished and enjoying the applause that' s the right moment for me to taking a picture. I' m very familiar with the set-up of my camera, so it' s just quick moment to press the shutter and then clapping the hands again.

So remember first and always enjoy the music without any distraction and then you should take a picture (only during the applause).
That' s my advice if you would like to that like me ;) I know it' s not so very polite but I remember very well that one year ago during the EIF I was asking London Symphony Orchestra officials via email for the permission to take their picture at the end of the performance and they wrote me back that there is no problem if I' m taking a picture during the applause only (strictly not when they are playing). Since that moment I realized that I should break the unwritten rule : "photography or video recording is strictly forbidden".

Sorry guys, I' m that kind of guy who is breaking the rules time by time in some way but always respecting the opposite side (musicians and orchestra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.