A Prayer for Paris

Dear Diary,

I, along with the world, watched in stunned silence at the images of the massive fire that engulfed Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris yesterday.  It was simply anguishing to behold.  This morning, the news that the two bell towers and the stone façade were safe and the all the holy relics and most of the art had been rescued is such a relief.  The nave itself seems relatively unscathed and seeing the huge cross still hanging above the altar was amazing.  Already, a French billionaire has pledged 100 million euros to begin the rebuilding process.

Today, I chose a photograph I made in the cathedral back in 2012.  I called it, In the Presence of Angels.  It is my small tribute to that beautiful and sacred place.  It will be rebuilt and will unite the French people and the world in the effort.  Perhaps, that is the blessing of this tragic event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.