A day in the life

By Shelling

Ancient

Wherever you put your feet on my Baltic sea island, past times are clearly present. The island has slowly risen from the water of the melting ice since about 12000 years ago. I don't know when people first landed here and decided to stay but you can see traces of them all over it. 

Todays walk went along a gravel ridge, an old sea shore formed by the waves. I read that people preferred travelling on ridges since they generally were dry and in places the path has shaped a hollow from centuries of footsteps. Of corse you see graves, ritual places or both from various periods too, my blip shows one memorable place, now forgotten.

Early spring, as it still is, the birds are at their singing  peak to attract a mate, later on it quietens down a lot when they are all busy fetching food for their young.

A beautiful walk, I like the reminders of being part of ancient history, it somehow gives me hope. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.