Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Chi Lin Nunnery

(I am falling behind with my blipping. The days are so full here!)

We went sightseeing today in Kowloon, travelling on the MTR rather than the ferry. It gave loads of opportunity to people watch! The connections here are very efficient, often having to just walk across a platform to change lines.

First stop was to get a mid morning coffee. We actually opted for McDonald's! Then to the Chi Lin Garden and Nunnery which is across the road from the Mall we were in. It as an oasis of calm in the middle of a bustling city. I took loads of pictures, but settling on this phone image for now, until I have more time to go through the pictures.

We had lunch before heading to the Walled City in a taxi (time was disappearing fast). The Walled City was a densely populated area which didn't fall under the jurisdiction of Hong Kong, thereby making activities inside impossible to police. Drugs and crime flourished until an English missionary called Jackie Pullinger helped turn things around by helping drug addicts rehabilitate and find a new purpose for their lives.

The area was cleared and pulled down in the early 1990s prior to handover to China, and is now another tranquil garden in the middle of Kowloon. I'll post an extra or collage when I get back to Dubai.

Back home by 5pm to rest my weary feet before walking over to Sandy's neighbour Madhu who invited us for drinks. She's got a beautiful flat. We couldn't stay too long as another friend (Cecilia) of Sandy's had invited us for dinner to the Thai restaurant in the Plaza! More wine and too much food, I was feeling pretty full by the end of the evening! An amazing end to a very happy day plus being at the receiving end of such generosity. I tried to blip, but just couldn't keep my eyes open!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.