The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Christmas Carp Card

A bit of an emergency blip here; am watching TV, heating up the oven for mince pies that I haven't made yet; thinking about hanging up a load of massage towels to dry; and thinking about the audiobook I've been listening to, which has turned unexpectedly heavy (it's A Golden Age by Tahmina Aman).

When I lived in Czechoslovakia, as it was when I first went to live in Zlin, I admired the work of the famous artist Josef Lada, who depicts traditional Czech scenes. Since then, my friend from Zlin, Dana, who was once also my landlady, has sent me a Lada card every Christmas and Easter for 20 years. Amazing! Here I present this year's gift.

The scene is from 1955 and is entitled 'Christmas Carp', and shows a woman buying the traditional carp to eat on Christmas Eve, which is the big day. The town could be Prague, but it might also be Telc, or that really famous town with the UNESCO world heritage status that I didn't visit...I will come back later when the mince pies are in the oven and I have remembered what it's called!

PS CleanSteve asked me if I had scanned the card! What kind of a blipper would that make me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.