momcat1

By momcat1

Finally ! daffodils!

not a great shot but they were nodding in the breeze and it started raining. What a surprise. At least it waited till I got the roses and small bushes unwrapped from their winter burlap covers. 
Spent tonight baking my first vegan cake for my RN's birthday tomorrow. Cross your fingers- I've never used coconut milk in a cake before! Did you know that if you drain chickpeas the liquid you get is about the same consistency as eggs and can be used in place of them? Well, likely the vegan bakers out there knew that. I suspect this will be my last vegan cake though unless I make one for her birthday next year. Pulling together ingredients from a nonvegan household to do this was a stretch. Fortunately my son likes olivio, I had chickpeas because of cooking occasional Morroccan tagines, and coconut milk because I threatened to do a Thai curry. Which I have not done yet.Which was , in retrospect fortunate. Now if it would only cool so I could ice it and go to bed.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.