Red letter day

OK - I know I have back blips to do, but I really really really wanted to get this posted.  

Late yesterday afternoon I got a phone call from our local pollie asking me to get hold of a rent-a-crowd for a Ministerial Announcement to be held at OGH at 8.30 this morning.  We would be expecting the Minister for the Dept of Water and Environment, himself, our local federal politician, and "possibly' a federal minister.  And we could expect good news.

I swung into high gear and sent emails to my complete list of Friends of Belair National Park and Friends of Old Government House.  

We dutifully assembled this morning, and the pollies all rocked up, including the Federal Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population.


Friends of OGH had their federal funding for $100,000 affirmed; AND ...wait, there's more.  Friends of Belair National Park got funding for a new kitchen in our Volunteer Centre to the tune of $35,000 and a further $30,000 for Bush Care.

I have never seen such a lot of smiles.  Everyone was very happy, and there were even a few tears of joy from certain of our members.

It's not often one gets rewarded for hard work put in.  And believe me it is hard work.  

I know there are some very cynical people out there who would point out that there is a Federal election coming up, and money is suddenly coming of of nowhere.  But you know what?  I don't care.  I really don't give a damn.  If the pollies want to send dollars our way then I'll grab it.

Clearly neither the Rower nor I took this image, because we are both in it.  I do have permission to post it though, and grateful thanks to my friend who took it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.